Zane Series – J.L. Leslie

pageonebooks.wordpress.com-24.jpg

As I read these so quickly (which is always a good sign!) I decided to do a mega review of the series for you guys.

It follows each of the highly successful but troubled Zane siblings, Stellan, Dylan and Lennon (who is a woman by the way), as they find love. But can they let go of the past long enough to allow themselves to be happy?

Now while the overall premise for each of these books is the same, they are different. Each of the siblings deals with their trauma differently, which in turn affects their relationships. Stellan, Dylan and Lennon experience their own individual issues, and consequently find their own perfect match, who also bring something new to each story. Wren, Riley and Swift have their own problems to deal with, without the volatile nature of the Zane family weighing in. This makes each character independently distinct! Leslie is also pretty ambitious with her themes, choosing to explore the effects of child abuse, disability, terminal illness, sexual assault and PTSD, which may be a bit excessive for some readers. It did get a little heavy in places. Anyway while the stories link together (which you know I love), and ultimately build to that satisfying HEA you come to expect, they stand up against one another as individual stories, with a pretty interesting plot if a bit much at times. And yay, for alternative perspectives!

I think Lennon was my favourite character, with her strong will and serious potty mouth. Here’s to girl power! I have to give a shout out to Chris too. He’s the type of friend every girl deserves!

However, I have to admit that some of the descriptions during the sex scenes (“sleek channel”) in the first book Tame Me (Stellan and Wren), stuck out for me but that quickly disappeared into the second and third book. It’s a pretty steamy series other than that.

So why is it a 3*+ from me? Well I was super torn between 3 and 4*s. As you can probably guess Lennon and Swift (Tease Me) were my favourite, so separately it was a 4* for me. But I didn’t feel as strongly about Stellan and Wren, or Dylan and Riley (Tempt Me). Particularly Dylan, his change in character just seemed too sudden. I think I needed more development there.

I definitely recommend you check them out though, after all everyone has their favourites.

I RECEIVED A COPY OF THESE BOOKS FROM THE AUTHOR IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW. THIS IN NO WAY AFFECTED MY OPINION OF THE BOOK, OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW.

Leave a comment