Pretty Masks by C.A.Bell

pageonebooks.wordpress.com-56.jpg

Pretty Masks was a delightful, dark and well written short from C.A.Bell.  Again, I didn’t read the blurb so I wasn’t sure what to expect when I started it but it was so good! I read it in one sitting as it isn’t that long, but also the story hooked me in.

I love how Bell doesn’t shy away from showing a side to people that other authors tend to avoid. For example I wanted to shake Lois’ mother, she was so frustrating as a character and don’t get me started on the husband! I love how broken Lois was, barely holding it together in some parts and then so deviously brilliant in others.

This little taboo read takes a look at what’s behind the mask that we wear in society. It looks at what lurks beneath the pretty, perfect face that hides dark, murderous secrets and the twists and turns will keep you from looking away. This is admittedly my first book by C.A.Bell (although I do have her poetry book in my tbr pile) and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

This review is only short because I don’t give away too much; my only gripe is that I wanted more! I would’ve loved for it to be longer.

Leave a Reply

