Pigeon – Alys Conran

pageonebooks.wordpress.com-47.jpg

Pigeon is the heartbreaking story of two best friends, Pigeon and Iola, who are forced to deal with issues that are beyond their years.

Alys Conran really captures the nuances of life in small town Wales which brought back memories of my own childhood. But more than that, Pigeon is simply beautiful, and you don’t need to be from Wales to appreciate that. Conran just has this way with words, and I found myself thinking, “Wow! Why can’t I write like that?!”. Every line just draws you in, it’s almost hypnotic. Coupled with the almost fantasy like quality fostered by Pigeon and Iola’s use of story-telling to cope with tragedy, and the seamless blend of the Welsh and English language, Pigeon makes for a truly compelling read.

I’m not surprised that Pigeon has been shortlisted for the International Dylan Thomas Prize.

Alys Conran is one to watch!

I received a copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion of the book, or the content of my review.

Leave a Reply

