Betrayal – Danielle Hardgrave

Darcy finds the handsome Gabriel washed up on the beach near her house. He’s injured and naked, but that doesn’t stop him making a few demands; no hospitals, keep him safe, and tell no one. Darcy just knows he was involved with the crash that happened out at sea that night, but is he a victim or a villain?

Some of you may remember that I reviewed Danielle Hardgrave’s To Trust a Wolf a little while back, and I find myself feeling a lot of the same things about Betrayal, the first book in the Sea Assassins Trilogy.  It’s such a quick read that it feels more like a taster story, showcasing what the series has to offer rather than an opener, and I still find the almost unquestioning acceptance of the existence of shifters a bit odd. I need more of a reaction. 

But the series has potential!

The shifter/sea assassins premise is really interesting, and nothing like anything I’ve read before. There’s a lot to play with, and I’d love to see Hardgrave utilise that, taking her stories a lot further.

So again I’d like to see more development in the next instalment.

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion of the book, or the content of my review.
Leave a Reply

