A Beautiful Funeral – Jamie McGuire

pageonebooks.wordpress.com-7.png

So I read this a while back but never actually got round to writing the review, naughty me! You’ve all probably read this by now, given the hype, but I thought I’d still throw my fifty pence worth in.

You should all know by now that I’m a massive Jamie McGuire fan, and that the Maddox brothers are the one. If you don’t, then where have you been?! I think I mention them in  all of my posts. Ok, slight exaggeration but its pretty damn close. Anywho, this book was definitely on my highly anticipated list, and while overall I did think it was a good end to the series, it was not without its faults. Now I can’t say too much without giving away the #whoisit for those of you who have yet to read it, but I was more than a little disappointed by McGuire’s treatment of a certain character. I just felt like in the end, they were just used as a dramatic plot device and completely overlooked.  For those of you who have read it, did you feel the same? Because I honestly feel like you’ll know who I’m talking about without my saying the name. It was that much of a big deal.

Other than that, it was great to get a glimpse into the characters lives post happily ever after and the story was pretty exciting, if a tad over the top. But let’s get real, that’s exactly what I came for so it didn’t really let me down. My love for McGuire and the Maddox brothers still burns as brightly.

Leave a Reply

