Killmore by Martha Sweeney

pageonebooks.wordpress.com-5.png

This was the first book I’ve read by Martha Sweeney and I must say I really enjoyed it. When I started it I was easily drawn in by Laurie and her previous life, so much so that I didn’t want to put it down! My interest wavered a little when Aiden came onto the scene, and I found that the story line slowed in pace. Overall it was a little predictable, but that’s okay because I liked going along for the ride.

There were a few things that affected my enjoyment of the book though and I feel like I’m not being honest if I don’t mention them. First off, I’m not a huge fan of anyone who uses ‘lady needs’ – just ask Ash, I frequently still rant about E.L.James and Anna’s ‘inner goddess’. I also found Aiden to be too pushy, and Laurie to be too weak when dealing with him considering she was meant to be this badass but the way she often gives in to him made want to shout ‘No. You said no! Stick to it woman!’

I found the almost constant references to masturbating a little off putting. Aiden, to me, felt like a horny teenage boy who couldn’t control himself instead of the 30 year old Federal Agent he was. I would’ve been fine with it a few times, but there was quite a lot of it going on and Sweeny used words like ‘beat off’ which just made me cringe a little. This is a personal preference though, and if this kind of thing doesn’t bother you then you’ll love Killmore.

The storyline was well thought out, I found it to be well written and interesting. The scenes that included the gang/mob storyline were actionpacked and my favourite because I felt that these scenes were when Laurie really came into her own. I loved her as a character overall, she was sassy, independent and prepared for anything which is why I think Aiden annoyed me so much.

I know it sounds like I didn’t enjoy this book – but I did! I will definitely be buying the second one and I’ll be taking a look at Martha’s other books because her writing style is easy and hooks you from the start.

Leave a Reply

