Interview – Dahlia Donovan

page-one-books-interview-with

Who is your favourite Austen character and why?

Anne Elliot from Persuasion.  I think she has a quiet sort of courage which I greatly admire.

What book are you currently reading?

Sadly, nothing interesting, I’m reading a book on creating characters by Writer’s Digest, but I’m too busy with writing for anything else.

What three words would you used to describe After the Scrum?

Fun, Sweet, Quirky

How much input did you have in the cover design?

A bit. My publisher, Hot Tree Publishing, handled it for the most part. They did ask for some input, but not much.  I love the cover so I won’t complain lol.

Why did you choose rugby as the sport focus in your novel?

I’ll loosely quote Francis for this answer. Hot, sweaty men in shorts running around and tackling each other.

As a female writer, how did you find writing a romance about two men? Were there any parts you found difficult/needed to research etc.?

Romance is romance.  If you can write a realistic male character, I think you can write m/m romance. The only tricky part is figuring out the mechanics of what happens once they’ve gotten starkers.  Much research…if by research you mean looking at pictures of men.

How do you find the writing process? Which bit did you struggle with the most and why?

I enjoy writing.  Sometimes words flow, other times I’m pulling teeth, but it’s all a part of the process. I struggle most with writing the synopsis. I hate it with a passion.

What have you got planned next?

I have a m/f romance novella coming out in September, All Lathered Up in the Unintentional anthology.  In November, I’ve got the last of my paranormal romances for a long time, The Misguided Confession. And into next year, I’ll hopefully have the follow up to After the Scrum, a novel featuring Graham Hodson, one of Francis’ closest friends.

Any advice for aspiring writers?

Take all advice with a grain of salt.

It sounds like I’m taking the mickey, but it’s serious advice. You’ll find in writing everyone has an opinion on how to approach the craft of putting words on paper, opinions which often contradict themselves.  The best advice I can give is to always take advice with a grain of salt.

Most important question, how do you eat your Jaffa cakes?

Frequently and without sharing.

Thank you Dahlia for the fabulous interview!

You can follow her on social media here: Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads. 

 

Leave a Reply

