Ashby Holler – Jamie Zakian

pageonebooks.wordpress.com-36.jpg

Sasha Ashby has always wanted to patch into her family’s club, and when the Sergeant at Arms position becomes available she is finally ready to take her place at the table even if it means she must lie to herself in order to do so. Sasha has always been into girls, but the club isn’t ready to accept her choice and she’s already taken a fierce beating for being different. In order to protect Sasha, her best friend and fellow prospect Vinny suggests that they fake a relationship to please the club and its president, her mother. The plan works for a time, but when Vinny’s brother Dez returns to the fold, Sasha’s feelings become all tangled up and as a gang war rages into chaos, Ashby Holler will never be the same again…

So I’m new to the whole MC/gang/club (not sure what to call it) genre, but after reading Ashby Holler I’ve been converted! You’d think I would have found this genre sooner given my all-consuming obsession with Sons of Anarchy but I’m pretty glad my introduction started with Ashby Holler. Although before you rush out and buy this because I mentioned SOA, bear in mind that this book is based around truckers and it’s their rivals who are in the MC. Ashby Holler just reminded me of SOA, as in it’s violent yet emotionally driven with complex club politics, powerful women and is generally badass! Kick ass! Please say there’s a sequel because the ending?! I need to know what’s next!

My only issue, well it’s not really an issue more of a personal opinion, is I didn’t really feel that the book needed to be set in the 80s. For me it didn’t really read that way, granted I may have missed a lot of the references being a 90s kid, but I only remembered that it was set in a different time period when Zakian specifically mentioned the date. The story line developed around Sahsa’s sexuality and the homophobia she experiences within the club still worked within the gang’s mentality and the emphasis on hyper-traditional masculinity and the qualities that they value. The date just didn’t seem necessary to me, although I understand why the author chose to do this. No matter the date, Sasha’s struggles are still relevant underpinning the entire novel.

Jamie Zakian you have yourself a new fan!

I RECEIVED A COPY OF THIS BOOK FROM THE AUTHOR IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW. THIS IN NO WAY AFFECTED MY OPINION OF THE BOOK, OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW.

 

Leave a Reply

