It Ain’t Me, Babe by Tillie Cole

pageonebooks.wordpress.com-31.jpg

This is the first book in the Hades Hangmen series, books that revolve around a motorcycle club of the same name. The story is told from dual points of view and we get to know River ‘Styx’ Nash, the head of the Hangmen and Salome (Mae), a young girl who escapes a cult that plans to marry her to Prophet David.

The commune is all Mae knows, but a chance encounter with a young boy in the woods teaches Mae to never stop fighting. Years later she escapes and coincidence leads her to the man she thought she’d never see again and their unbreakable bond is stronger than ever. Styx is a man of very few words, a flaw he makes up for with his fists and his iron rule over the club. The two of them together are dynamite, I loved the chemistry, the gentler aspects, like the singing and the way they fight for each other. I stayed up all night to read this book and I’m so glad I did – how have I not read Tillie Cole’s work sooner?! I loved her representation of the commune, the research and thought put into handling it. I also enjoyed reading about the club and the dynamics of leadership, illegal activity, relationships within the gang.

I haven’t read a lot of MC romances but I absolutely will be after this! It’s a dark read with violence, blood, sex and drugs but don’t let that put you off. It’s fast paced, action packed and very well written. My only gripe is the use of ‘bitches’ throughout to refer to women, but that’s my inner feminist struggling and I understand why the author did it. But if that’s my only issue, then that should tell you how much I loved this book.

 

Leave a Reply

