More by Keren Hughes

pageonebooks.wordpress.com-30.jpg

I finished More quite quickly, and I feel like the storyline was thought out but, it just didn’t work for me. I’ve been asked to refrain from spoilers so I can’t really go into detail but I wanted a bit more. Anna and Drake are the perfect couple, with a perfect son, only not everything is as it seems and one day Drake  ups and leaves. He never tells Anna why and just as she starts to move on with her life, she runs into her husband and old feelings come to the surface.

The book is told from a dual point of view, and flits between the past and present. I enjoyed Anna’s voice, when she isn’t being the perfect wife, she’s actually strong and independant. I like how she didn’t let Drake’s departure ruin her. I enjoyed reading about Drake’s love for his wife and the things he’s grateful for.

I struggled with Drake’s storyline, I didn’t really find it convincing or developed enough for me, but I think my own personal experiences may have tainted my viewpoint. I felt if we hadn’t had Drake’s perspective early on with his heavy hinting, his storyline would have come out of nowhere.

I found it hard to connect with the book  in the beginning as there is this huge focus on perfect wife/husband imagery with lots of sex and flipping between the present and past events. It just felt a bit lost to me and it felt like Hughes was ramming it down my throat how perfect Anna and Drake were, so she could turn around and point out they weren’t – but that was already obvious. I also found that certain parts of the storyline developed very quickly and if you’re a fussy reader like me then I’m sure you’ll know what I’m talking about when you read it.

Overall, this book just wasn’t for me, but I would keep an eye out for Hughes’ next book because it was well written – I just didn’t connect with the storyline. However, if you’re after a fairly quick read with steaminess, that puts you through the emotional ringer and has a few twists and turns then this is the book for you.

Leave a Reply

