Darkly Dreaming – Chloe Hammond

pageonebooks.wordpress.com-28.jpg

I am stuck, forever darkly dreaming.

Rae and Layla desperately want to escape their troubles so they decide to retrace the trip they took to France as students. However, instead of recapturing their youth they are drawn into the shadowy world of vampires when they are infected by a rebellious member of a near by Pride. Against their will they must learn to adapt to this new world, while a power struggle threatens to expose their existence.

Darkly Dreaming has an interesting take on vampire mythology, introducing us to some new elements that I don’t think I’ve read anywhere else before. However, I sometimes felt this aspect of the story was almost side lined for the characters emotional and historical backgrounds that involved everyday kind of problems. For me it read more like a bildungsroman and vampirism was just an extra thing they had to deal with, eventually helping them with their spiritual education. Especially given the way the story ends for Rae, so I think this is what the author intended. I personally liked this because it switched things up. It wasn’t what I was expecting after reading the blurb and I like to be surprised. But, if you’re looking for romanticised sparkly vampire fiction, then I’m not sure you’re going to like it. Still, if you are a fan of the genre I think you should give this a read. It may just surprise you.

I RECEIVED A COPY OF THIS BOOK FROM THE AUTHOR IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW. THIS IN NO WAY AFFECTED MY OPINION OF THE BOOK, OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW.

 

Leave a Reply

