Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief – Rick Riordan

pageonebooks.wordpress.com-22

Percy Jackson has always been different. He struggles to fit in, is easily distracted from school work, can’t control his temper, and things just keep getting worse when his pre-algebra teacher turns into a monster and tries to kill him. When his mother discovers what happened, she realises she can longer protect Percy from the secrets she has kept from him his entire life. She has no choice but to take him to camp Half-blood, a summer camp for demigods. Yes that’s right, Percy’s estranged father just so happens to be a god. But not just any god, he’s one of the big three (Zeus, Poseidon and Hades) but his existence sets in motion a series of events that threaten to start a war between them. Can Percy prevent this from happening? And so begins his first quest.

Why have I waited so long to read this?! Because I’m there, I get it, buy me a T-shirt, and sign me up to the fandom already! My only regret about this book is, why didn’t I read it sooner?!

I loved the way Riordan makes Greek mythology relevant to the present day. It was really interesting to see how he updated these stories as they have such a wealth of possibility, which believe me, he uses it to his full advantage. Riordan has created a rich world with a fast paced adventure that still stays true to the original premise just with a whole host of new and loveable characters.

So don’t let the age range put you off, it doesn’t read like it’s intended audience, just good fantasy fiction.

I can’t wait to read the rest of the series.

3 thoughts on “Percy Jackson and the Lightening Thief – Rick Riordan

  1. I’m yet to have the pleasure of reading this series—although I have all five books, and I’d love to read the spin-offs/sequels—but since people, yourself included, still enjoy it, I need to get my butt in gear!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was the same, had been meaning to read it for a long time and then the other day I just picked it up and couldn’t put it down. I think it’s kinda like Harry Potter, you can read it at any age and still enjoy 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

