QOTD: Alain de Botton

Most of what makes a book 'good' is that we are reading it at the right moment for us.”.jpg

I recently read this quote that was shared by @noveliciouss on Page One’s Twitter feed. For me, it perfectly sums up how I feel about books. I truly believe that books are meant to come into your life at a certain time. Some will endure and continue to resonate, while your connection with others will be fleeting. The first time I tried to read Pride and Prejudice I hated it, I couldn’t get past the first chapter, but now it is one of my favourite books of all time. The first time I read the Twilight series I loved it, now I’m not entirely sure why I was so obsessed. But for a moment I was.

For me, reading is all about these moments. Moments when we feel so completely connected to the words, we just know what the author is trying to convey. A moment when we think to our selves that’s exactly how I feel, think, act. Why couldn’t I have written that? So we recommend it, we share our favourite quotes, we emblazon them across our clothes, we even get them tattooed.

But sometimes we aren’t ready for what these books have to say, what lessons they may have to teach us, what they will make us feel, but that doesn’t mean we won’t be in the future. I believe that book will come back into your life when you least expect it. Perhaps when need it most. Then you will understand.

And I’m not just talking about great classical works because they are not the only authority on life. Every book has something to say.

So if you have ever tried to read a book and failed, I encourage you to return to it at a different time in your life. You may be surprised at what you find.

Leave a Reply

