Book to Film Adaptations: Me Before You

Me-Before-You-2016.jpg

I recently reviewed the book so I’m going to link that in here so I don’t have to rehash what the story is about for this post. I know it’s lazy, but there’s only so many ways to explain the plot.

So now that you’ve (hopefully) read my review of the book, I’ll get into the film.

First can we just talk about Emilia Clarke’s eyebrows?! They are the most expressive eyebrows I have ever seen. They completely draw you in! Her eyebrows are like super acting power tools, they are truly incredible. But seriously, Emilia Clarke is a great actress. Many of you will know her as Daernerys Targaryen from the Game of Thrones  TV series (I’ve only just bought into the hype so am currently binge watching the entire thing, hence the lack of postage), but for me, she may as well change her name to Louisa. I mean, she already has the surname! Emilia did a fantastic job of bringing the colourful Louisa Clark to life, she was exactly how I had imagined her. And let’s not forget about Sam Claflin, Finnick Odair from The Hunger Games Franchise, who is fast becoming a favourite of mine. His performance softened Will’s character without detracting from his strong willed personality.

For fans of the book you will notice that certain aspects of the story have been omitted from the film, but JoJo Moyes was responsible for these changes because she wrote the  screenplay. I’m going to link BuzzFeed’s post explaining the differences between the book and the film here, so you can read some of the reasons behind these decisions. While I do understand these choices, and agree that they do not detract from the overarching story, I did feel that it changed the complexity of Louisa and Will’s parents’ characterisation, taking from them some of the reasons why they react the way they do.

So overall I’m going to give the film 4 stars, it just didn’t quite capture the book for me.

I just want to take a moment to address the controversy surrounding Me Before You. Disability activists have reacted angrily to the film because they believe it sends the wrong message about people with disabilities, that their lives are not worth living. While I personally liked the book and the film, I do not want to ignore the voices speaking out against it because I do not know what it is like to live with a disability, and I will never claim to do so. So please take the time to read this article from the Washington Post discussing some of the issues regarding the portrayal of people with disabilities. 

4 thoughts on “Book to Film Adaptations: Me Before You

  1. Book to film adaptations can be tricky but for some reason I have high hopes for this one. I think it’ll translate well onto the big screen. I absolutely loved the book and think Emilia Clarke is a perfect casting choice, she’s got that same energy and warmth. Can’t wait to see this once it’s released here. Anyhow, nice review and blog (I love books and movies too). Are you currently sharing your work on any other movie/tv platforms?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you! It was a really good adaptation, definitely one of the better ones.

      Page One has a Twitter and Facebook. I also share a lot of my reviews on Amazon and GoodReads but that’s it 🙂

      Like

  2. Happy to hear that. The moment it’s released here I’ll be running to my nearest cinema. Well, If you’re up for it, I’d love to help you get your writing seen on Moviepilot/Creators. I’d love to hear from you if you’re interested. You can find my contact details on my ‘About’ page.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

