Lean in 15 – Joe Wicks

pageonebooks.wordpress.com-21.jpg

I recently got back from the Good Roots Festival in London. The venue was packed full of people celebrating good food and good habits for healthy living. It also had a book store, which got me thinking about Page One. Why aren’t we reviewing/testing out all these great cook books and healthy living guides for our followers?

I thought I’d start with Lean in 15 by The Body Coach, Joe Wicks. Just so you know, I didn’t buy this at Good Roots, but it was on sale there. If I had, I wouldn’t be able to get this review out so quickly, the festival was only on Saturday! I bought my copy a few months back on Amazon UK.

I first discovered Lean in 15 and The Body Coach on social media. I stumbled across his 15 second videos on Facebook, and before I knew it I was following him on everything from Twitter to Snapchat, and everything in between. His recipes and workouts were so simple, could this really work? Intrigued I bought a copy of his first book, which is a basic guide to the Shift phase of his 90 days SSS plan (the second book, The Shape Plan is now available for preorder). However, if you are looking for a more tailored plan, check out his website. Joe Wicks spent 5 years as a personal trainer, 3 years as an Online Nutrition Coach and has 50,000 client transformations under his belt, so he should know what he’s on about.

Wicks begins Lean in 15 by clearly explaining his philosophy, dispelling some of the fitness and well-being myths we have all come to know along the way; fats are not the enemy, you do not need to drastically restrict your calorie intake to loose weight, get rid of the “sad step” (weighing scales) and “prep like a boss”.  He uses a common sense approach to nutritional science, which made it easy to read and understand.

This is then followed by a 100 recipes, most of which can be made in just 15 minutes. He also tells you if the recipe can be frozen so you can get your prep on.  It also has two 15 minute HIIT (High Intensity Interval Training) session workouts that you can do at home. Hence the title Lean in 15. This guide is ultimately designed for people who often complain they are too busy to be healthy.

I followed the plan pretty strictly for around 4 weeks, and I did feel better in myself. I was less bloated, and seemed to have more energy. The HIIT sessions were hard, like I want to throw up now, sweat pouring out of you, hard, but that was strangely rewarding. However, I didn’t stick to the workouts in the book, I mixed them up with the ones you can find on his YouTube channel. I loved the recipes, especially the Overnight Oats, Cheesy Chicken Chorizo and the one with Cod and Black Olives. Seriously yummy, but some of the portion sizes were insane. I’m a little person, so I sometimes felt over-stuffed. I also had an allergic reaction to protein powder but that’s not the books fault.

I’ll admit I did cheat after the first week and weighed (sorry!) and amazingly I’d lost 8lbs! So this plan does work.

So overall I think it’s a great guide, but I found it a little difficult to sustain. I still use a lot of the recipes, and occasionally throw in the odd HIIT session, it just wasn’t for me.

Leave a Reply

