Seize the Night – Sherrilyn Kenyon

pageonebooks.wordpress.com-17.jpg

You insulted me first. Not that I’m particularly insulted by being called a rampant she-devil. It’s kind of flattering, but still, I’m not the kind of person to take an insult in silence.

Valerius is possibly the most hated warrior in the history of the Dark-Hunters, coming from a notorious Roman family, and not to mention the largely Greek hunters know how to hold a serious grudge. Although Valerius’ inflated sense of aristocratic privilege doesn’t help. So when he meets fellow vampire hunter Tabitha Devereaux, her sassy nature takes him completely by surprise. She refuses to take any of his BS, and also just happens to be the sister-in-law of his mortal enemy Kyrian. But an imminent threat forces Valerius to reassess his situation; will he be able to loosen up and learn to trust those who hate him?

First I must apologise and recant some of the statements I made in my previous blog post that  kinda, sorta had a dig at Sherrilyn Kenyon’s female protagonists, Where are all the women at? I’m sorry! I really am, because Tabitha kicked so much ass. She is a tough as nails vampire hunter, with so much sass it’s almost a super power. She knows exactly what she wants, and isn’t afraid to go for it. The 3 stars is pretty much all for her.

Now I wasn’t as enthusiastic about Valerius, although he was pretty cute in places. But I dunno, I just didn’t find myself warming to his character as much as the others, and I really don’t know why. Perhaps you guys will though!

The story itself is enjoyable. Sherrilyn Kenyon’s books have something for everyone as she creatively mixes genres; sometimes mysterious, always romantic, action adventures with a historical supernatural twist. 

Leave a Reply

