Out Now: This Old Heart of Mine – A.J. Compton

pageonebooks.wordpress.com-13.jpg

Isn’t that the goal in life? To be happier than you are afraid. 

Ava Malone was born with a severe heart defect, but just days away from death she is given a second chance at life when she receives a heart transplant. Now she is fully recovered, she is determined to live her life, not only for herself but for her donor. But her journey of self-discovery takes an unexpected turn when she falls in love with Gabriel. Can Ava risk having her heart-broken again?

I don’t know what I was expecting when I first read the blurb for This Old Heart of Mine but when I started reading it, I was surprised (in a good way) I couldn’t stop, and I don’t know why I had any reservations. This is seriously well written, and thought provoking. I am a registered organ donor, but hadn’t given much thought to what it would mean for those I’d be leaving behind. Compton challenges you to think about this possibility and consider how this effects everyone involved, from the person whose life you could save, to a family coping with loss and learning to deal with the fact that a part of their loved one still lives on. It’s difficult to think about, but this really is an interesting read.

If that doesn’t appeal to you, this complex story is set within a romantic plot structure that doesn’t hold out on the HEA. Although I’m not sure I would have made the same choice as Ava, but you know me! The HEA’s are more Hannah’s thing.

But I am a sucker for a good poet and Gabriel’s words did not disappoint. I also loved the use of Pablo Neruda and E.E. Cummings. Compton also perfectly described how I feel about poetry: “is it possible to fall in love with words? I know they’re intangible objects, but they feel so alive to me”. This is definitely one of those books that you can’t help but quote from.

Read it, read it now!

This Old Heart of Mine is available now on Amazon.

To find out more check out A.J. Compton’s Facebook, TwitterGoodreads, Instagram and Pinterest.

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review. This in no way affected my opinion of the book, or the content of my review.
Leave a Reply

