The Bird and The Sword by Amy Harmon

pageonebooks.wordpress.com-10.jpg

I have just finished The Bird and The Sword. Wow. I loved it! For me it was reminiscent of Skyrim crossed with Tamora Pierce’s Wild Mage Series, both of which I love. I usually do a synopsis but here I don’t want to. I don’t want to ruin the book for you or give too much away because you need to read it for yourself!

What I will say is I love how Lark has to find her voice, how she has this thirst for knowledge and a quick wit. She’s strong, sassy and despite what she thinks, anything but forgettable.The troll for me was one of my favourite characters. He was brave, loyal and provided Lark with the love she needed in the world. Especially since her father desperately holds her at arm’s length, trying to save his own skin. Basically I love how Harmon develops and portrays her characters, they were strong and interesting.

The importance and power of words in the novel struck a chord with me. Lark has to be careful what she thinks, what she wishes for because if she used the wrong words something will go wrong. With the much power no wonder she’s hesitant to use her voice.

This gets five stars because it was fast paced, well written, stole a piece of my heart and I would definitely recommend it to my friend. And my husband (which i did), and my co-worker (which I did) and my neighbour (which I will if we cross paths today). Basically – buy the book! If you like fantasy and magic, you won’t regret it.

When funds allow it I’ll be buying a copy in paperback – and I’ll be keeping an eye out for any signed copy opportunities open internationally/for the UK. That’s how much I’m in love with this book.

Leave a Reply

