Unrivaled by Alyson Noel

pageonebooks.wordpress.com-8.jpg

I was given this to read through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Let me just start by saying I’ve never read anything by Noel before but I am a convert. I didn’t read the synopsis either before starting, so I literally went into this book blind but I’m glad I did.

The books is told through several perspectives, woven together by a club promotion competition. There’s Tommy, a country boy eager to make his way as a musician. Astar, a rich girl from a strict family who are intent on keeping her wrapped in cotton wool. Layla, a girl with big dreams and a drive that’ll stop at nothing to achieve them. We also see snippets from Hollywood starlet, Madison Brooks, who is hiding something and will do anything to keep it hidden. As the competition heats up and things get gritty, as people try to out do each other to save themselves from elimination, Madison Brooks goes missing, presumed dead. But who is to blame? Things in Hollywood are never as they seem, after all, everyone’s an actor.

I’ve given it four stars because not a lot actually happens, it’s more of a build up for what’s to come. But please don’t think that mean it was slow or boring, because it wasn’t. It was just a little uneventful for a while.

It deserves the four stars because quite simply, I really enjoyed this book, it was fast paced, interesting and each character had their own individual voice. I finished it in under three hours, that’s how absorbed I got into the bitchy, backstabbing world of the club scene, and I have my money on who I think  is responsible. I’ll definitely be reading the rest of the trilogy to find out if I’m right.

Leave a Reply

