Sunset Rivalry – Shannyn Leah

pageonebooks.wordpress.com-6.jpg

Anya Caliendo left her family’s resort two years ago after becoming involved in her father’s dirty dealings. Anya is forced to return home in order to find a secret file that will clear her name and right a wrong that she feels responsible for. However, she doesn’t plan on running into her ex-lover Quinn Barker. Quinn used to work for her father, and is also on the hunt for a mysterious file so they decide to make a deal, and look for them together. Can they find a way to trust each other without knowing what the other is hiding?  Will they even be able to keep things strictly professional given their intimate history?

So each book in the Sunset/Caliendo Resort series is stand alone, but they are still interconnected. Kind of like Jamie McGuire’s Maddox Brothers series or Kylie Scott’s Stage Dive Series. As you already know, I’m a huge fan of this format so definite points to Shannyn Leah, excellent choice, I love it. I can also attest to the fact that each story is truly stand alone, as this is the first book in the series that I have read (which I believe is #2) and I didn’t feel lost, or disorientated. I knew exactly what was going on which is a tricky thing to do when you have crossover characters.

However, I will note that Leah does recommend you read the books in order to really enjoy the series, as all the characters appear in future books.

Sunset Rivalry was a 3*s for me personally because I didn’t truly connect with the main characters, but with this type of series I always find you’ll have your favourites, Quinn and Anya just weren’t mine. But I’m interested to see what else happens at the resort! And from my Goodreads research, I see Leah has written a few other series in this style so I’ll definitely be checking those out as well. The storyline was also a little predictable. Not just in the usual HEA way we expect and love, but I had guessed the plot twist before it happened. That doesn’t mean I didn’t like or enjoy the read though, I just saw it coming.

Overall, I’d recommend this if you’re looking for a nice, easy, romantic read with characters that will return if you fall in love with them. I have a feeling a few of you are going to want to see Quinn again…

This is a perfect summer read!

I RECEIVED A COPY OF THIS BOOK FROM THE AUTHOR IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW. THIS IN NO WAY AFFECTED MY OPINION OF THE BOOK, OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW.

Leave a Reply

