Welsh Writers: Idris Davies

I suddenly realised that I haven’t yet reviewed a book by a welsh author for March’s reading challenge so until I do, I thought I would share some of my favourite Welsh writings with you:

0001-191978168.jpg

Idris Davies was born in the South Wales Valleys, in my hometown Rhymney. He was the only poet to write about significant events of the early 20th century in the South Wales coalfield from the perspective of the coalface as a miner himself. This poem is taken from his collection Gwalia Deserta meaning Wasteland of Wales, which focuses on the dereliction of Wales during the economic depression in the interwar period. He is best known for using poetry to relate to politics, especially with regards to the plight of mining communities.

Leave a Reply

