Watt(are you missing)pad

wattpad

A while back I read the first two instalments of the After Series by Anna Todd. At the time I didn’t really think anything of it, they were just a couple of books that sounded pretty good (complicated on again, off again relationship with a ton of drama), were easy to read and on offer in my local supermarket. I read them pretty quickly but didn’t get around to buying the next one for a while. Then when I finally started looking around for it online, I suddenly realised that these books were kinda a big deal because of the platform and style they originated from. Anna Todd a.k.a imaginator1D had become Wattpad famous for her One Direction fan fiction, which was later adapted for a wider audience in print. At this point I have to admit that I haven’t yet read any of the later instalments of the series because once you know something, you can’t un-know it, and let’s just say I’m not exactly a Directioner, definitely check them out if you are though. But this piqued my readerly interest. What exactly had I been missing on Wattpad?
I quickly set up a profile, eager to see what undiscovered readerly treasures I could find. You can conveniently search by genre, so in honour of this month’s theme at Page One I chose mystery. And then BAM a ton of glorious hits was displayed before me. So many, many stories all just waiting for me to read them. I swear it’s like Aladdin’s cave, untold riches await you! Unlimited stories is correct Wattpad.
When you do search you’ll find that some of the covers have stickers on them, like the second hit in my search which was The Secret – Book 1 by DS Jamison or @Monrosey, a 2014  Watty award winner and has had 3m reads and 105k likes to date, so you can see why it’s been highlighted! And has been added to my virtual Wattpad library.
Another cool feature I like is you can comment along as you read so you can react to the story, and it’s added to the exact line/section you had this thought. So if your like “Hell no, she did not just say that!” or “Oh man, why don’t they just get together already they are definitely OTP material!”, you can  instantly share it with the other readers. You can then see if others feel the same way. I think it also works as a great feedback tool for the author, they get to see what’s working for their readers and respond as most of the writers on Wattpad work in instalments. It’s a neat little feature!
However, I’m still new to the world of Wattpad and don’t have a whole lot else to report just yet but I’ll keep you posted on what I find.
Updates to follow so be sure to check back!
Leave a Reply

