Hot Little Hands – Abigail Ulman

pageonebooks.wordpress.com-4 copy 4.jpg
To view cover visit NetGalley or Penguin UK.

the terrible secret passing between me and the stranger, that I was being admitted into a new world – that I was growing old or dying or changing or something.

I’m going to keep my review short because I think this is the type of book you just have to read because it’s difficult to explain.

Hot Little Hands is a collection of short stories about female desire, and what it means to be desired. Each story focuses on girls/women coming to terms with their own life experiences.

Always unflinching in its portrayal, Hot Little Hands is electric with a sexually charged undercurrent that is almost tangible even in its more quiet moments. The narrative is understated, subtle in its approach even as it confronts the reader with direct and uncompromising observations. These stories are at once funny and heartbreaking, always devastating.

Ulman is one to watch.

I received this book from the publisher via NetGalley. This in no way affected my opinion of the book, or the content of my review

Leave a Reply

