Out Today Bayou My Love – Lauren Faulkenberry

pageonebooks.wordpress.com-4.jpg

I was doomed to a walk of shame in my own goddamn house.

Enza, a property developer who’s out to prove herself in her father’s company, has just inherited her Grandmother’s house and wants to show what she can do by making this her first solo flip but in order to do that she must to return to Bayou Sabine, the place she thought she’d left behind. What she didn’t expect to find was someone sitting on her newly acquired porch…

Bayou My Love was destined to capture my attention because it contains one of my most favourite places, New Orleans. It features in so many of my favourite books, TV and films that you could say I’ve become a little obsessed. It really is a fascinating place and Faulkenberry uses it’s mythology to her full advantage. I loved the way she wove the history of Voodoo into the classic Romantic plot structure, which definitely picked up the pace. But really from the moment Jack spoke in that French/Creole drawl he and Faulkenberry had me hook, line and sinker.  I was a goner, and I didn’t surface until the novels end. I may be in love.

My only real issue, and it’s small one, was that I sometimes felt the story jumped ahead in places, like a part of the description was missing. I think perhaps Faulkenberry’s imagination was working faster than her hands could write! This only happened a few times but I did find myself noticing when it did but it didn’t detract from the story overall.

I definitely recommend you check this out!

Bayou My Love is available on Amazon UK and Amazon US.

I RECEIVED AN ARC FROM THE AUTHOR IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW. THIS IN NO WAY AFFECTED MY OPINION OF THE BOOK, OR THE CONTENT OF MY REVIEW.
11 thoughts on “Out Today Bayou My Love – Lauren Faulkenberry

  1. I’ve read this book, too, and THIS: “But really from the moment Jack spoke in that French/Creole drawl he and Faulkenberry had me hook, line and sinker. I was a goner, and I didn’t surface until the novels end. I may be in love.” YES YES YES!!! I totally agree!! HAHAHA. Sigh.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

