Happy World Book Day! 

A day entirely dedicated to books, what’s not to love?!

I fondly remember dressing up as my favourite characters in school on this most wonderful of book nerdy days. The highlight of my Mother’s costume making career being Cleopatra when I was heavily into all things Egyption. It was even featured in the local paper!

I took my role very seriously!

While I wouldn’t be opposed to dressing up again, Hannah and I decided to keep things low key here at Page One this year. Perhaps next year?! We’ve decided to share our top 5  books from across our lives. And here are mine:

Meg and Mog – Helen Nicoll and Jan Pienkowski

My favourite from the series was this one, Meg’s eggs, just because they turned into dinosaurs which just rocked my little world.

Winnie the Witch – Korky Paul and Valerie Thomas

I had a thing for witches ok, I always dressed up as one for Halloween. I would have added The Worst Witch – Jill Murphy too if we hadn’t decided to limit ourselves to 5.  But I decided to go with Winnie and Wilbur because I distinctly remember this illustration, I loved all the black and the small pops of colour. I think I actually wanted her house because it had a turret and was all gothicy.

winnie-prv-1-214825.jpg

Judy Moody series – Megan McDonald

Who else remembers the Scholastic Book Club? And on World Book Day we’d even get vouchers! So when that leaflet was handed out before we went home from school I used to get so excited because I knew I’d be getting a new book soon. My Mother always got me something and this is where I found Judy Moody. It was one of the first full length series that I was addicted to. Judy had so much sass.

Diary of a Crush series – Sarra Manning 

Some of you may notice there’s been a bit of a leap in ages here. While there were a few books that I seriously loved and that possibly changed my life: Harriet’s Hare – Dick King Smith, The Bodygulpa – Jenny Nimo, Spike Milligan’s poetry, anything by Jacqueline Wilson and Roald Dahl, we are limited to 5. There was also a period of time where I didn’t really read anything at all. I blame the onset of puberty and wanting to seem cool in my early teenage years. Anyway, it was only when my Mother started working in one of the local libraries that I got the bug for reading again, and it all started with this series! Probably because I really wanted a boyfriend and the fictional kind was ok for the time being. But I will always maintain that without Dylan and Edie I would never have pursued my degree. Kiss and Make Up was, and probably still is my favourite.  I reread them every summer as a way to say thank you.

Rebecca – Daphne du Maurier


And last but certainly not least, we have du Maurier. I bet you were wondering when she’d pop up again! Her writing has fascinated me ever since my Mother said you have to read this. She was such an interesting woman, with a prolific writing career. If you have yet to read anything written by her, you should go do so now.

Writing this post has made me realise how much I have to thank my Mother for. I definitely need to get her something extra special this Mother’s Day!

What books have influenced your life? We’d love to hear from you!

Leave a Reply

