Interview with Cheri Marie

12698621_191578247865674_5973214366761123211_o.jpg

How does it feel to have your debut novel published?

The feeling I have is simply indescribable. When I first started writing Hearts Aligned I never thought I would even finish it let alone actually publish it! Now here we are, days from the release and it’s so surreal.

What three words would you used to describe Hearts Aligned?

Three words to describe Hearts Aligned: Real, Sincere, and Passionate.

How do you find the writing process? Which bit did you struggle with the most and why?

Usually when I sit down to write, I think about the scene I’m writing and pick a playlist that fits the emotions I’m looking for. After I find the perfect playlist I put in my earbuds, turn up the music and let my fingertips flow. The part I struggle with the most is the internal thought from the characters in the story. I tend to want to write more dialogue than necessary.

If Hearts Aligned was to be made into a film, who would you chose to play Arianna and Landon?

For Arianna it would have to be Canadian plus size model and actress, Christina Schmidt. She’s stunningly beautiful and fits Arianna completely. For Landon, I would have to say Dietrich Riley. He isn’t an actor, he’s a football player but he’s who I picture for Landon.

What book are you currently reading?

I’m currently reading Driven by K. Bromberg and loving every minute of it!

What advice, if any, would you give your younger self?

Don’t let other people define who you are. Live your dreams no matter how ridiculous anyone else thinks they are. As long as you believe in yourself, you can succeed.

Any advice for people looking to write erotica?

My advice to anyone that wants to write erotica is, just do it! Some people will love it, others will hate it, it’s inevitable. Love what you write and write what you love. You never know, you could be the next EL James!

How did you decide upon the cover of Hearts Aligned? How much input did you have?

I worked with Kari Ayasha with Cover to Cover designs and she’s amazing. I told her what I had pictured for the characters, a bit of the story and any ideas that I had in mind for the cover. She took everything into consideration and made a cover that I couldn’t love more.

Erotica is a genre that is often looked down on, what made you want to write erotica fiction?

Four words: Fifty Shades of Grey! I read the series more than once and I loved it! Of course with erotica, the hot steamy sex scenes are what people are looking for but it’s also the love stories behind it.

What have you got planned next?

I currently have two books in the works. One of which is another erotica type love story about a musician who is in love with his childhood best friend. The other is more of a military romance/family type story. I’m madly in love with the characters in both and their stories, I hope that everyone else will be too.

YOU CAN BUY HEARTS ALIGNED ONLINE AT AMAZON FROM THE 14th of FEB.

Amazon UK: Hearts Aligned

Amazon US: Hearts Aligned

Cheri Marie also has a group on Facebook for discussing her books.

You can join it here: Facebook Group

Leave a Reply

