Christmas Challenge 5. A book choosen for the cover: Something Beautiful – Jamie McGuire

pageonebooks.wordpress.com copy.jpg

Sometimes good-bye is a second chance. Clears your head. Anyway… missing someone makes you remember why you loved that person in the first place.

I’ve always loved simple but effective covers like this one. They don’t give anything away but  I find they always make you want to pick them up and immediately read the blurb. John Green’s covers are another good example of this.

However, I must admit that this choice was also driven by the fact I’m a huge Maddox brothers fan and will read anything remotely related to them. And this is a novella that follows Shepley Maddox, the faithful cousin and best friend of  Travis Maddox (the first of the brothers in the series), and his relationship with America. I was really looking forward to this, which is why I asked for it for Christmas but I found myself a little disappointed. There wasn’t much of a story, and while I love both Shepley and America’s characters in the main series, I found that I didn’t quite believe in them in their own story. It just fell a little flat for me. But the Maddox family will always have a little piece of my heart.

Here’s to hoping Tyler’s story won’t be much longer!

One thought on “Christmas Challenge 5. A book choosen for the cover: Something Beautiful – Jamie McGuire

Leave a Reply

