Christmas Challenge 6― A book that became a film: Love, Rosie

Rating***.jpg

Love, Rosie by Cecelia Ahern is a sweet ‘will they/won’t they – oh-so-close’ romance about two best friends, Alex and Rosie. It’s told through emails, letters, texts, invites and instant messages over the years of their friendship. It was made into a film in 2014, starring Lily Collins and Sam Claflin.

The novel explores complex themes, such as teen pregnancy, adultery, divorce and love. But the way it’s told through various mediums (texts, letters etc.) mitigates slightly. You’re aware of the issues and in some instances you can see where the story is going, but it’s never too serious or sombre which makes this a lighter read. At some points I was so frustrated with where the story was going I nearly put it down, but then this feeling of frustration reveals how invested I’d become in Alex and Rosie, their near misses and life dramas without even realising it.

I wouldn’t go hugely out of my way to recommend it, but I would say that if you had some free time and wanted to fill it with an easy read, then this would be a good choice. I mean ― I read the whole thing in a day. Demolished it.

There are some things I wasn’t overly keen on, for example, how long the book spans (read it and you’ll see). I also struggled with Alex’s misplaced sense of responsibility; he marries because of a pregnancy and his future father-in-law is also his boss. For me it went a little far, I just wanted to stamp ‘doormat’ on his head, the same of Rosie in her marriage. I mean, how could she not know what was going on? Her husband was slimy from the start.

The ending was feel good, but it could have also been reached so much sooner – hence the boring rating. I don’t mean boring as it it was all a boring read, just that it dragged on a little too long for me. The miscommunication between the two is funny, frustrating and heartfelt at times. Doesn’t this reflect modern society well – how we never communicate clearly and miss chances in life? It’s a perfect example of how easy it is to miss love that’s right in front of our face.

Leave a Reply

