Daphne du Maurier Gifts

As I may have already mentioned, I am a bit of a Daphne du Maurier freak so to celebrate the result of my dissertation that I conveniently made all about her, I thought I would follow Hannah’s lead and create a gift guide for such like minded folk. This is not, by any means a hint (an extremely helpful one if that) to my friends and family, but if some of these were to appear in my stocking or under the tree this Christmas, well let’s just call it a coincidence shall we?

Daphne du Maurier wrote extensively throughout her life, everything from poetry to non-fiction but is most famous for her novels Rebecca (my favourite book of all time), Jamaica Inn, My Cousin Rachel, Frenchman’s Creek, and the short stories The Birds and Don’t Look Now. Which have all been adapted into film and television by everyone from the BBC to Alfred Hitchcock. Although her books have remained in print and highly popular she has been critically overlooked. This has made my task somewhat difficult, but here are some of the things I found:

51wTwEHUvRL._SY355_.jpg

Alfred Hitchcock’s adaptation of Rebecca (1940) is my absolute favourite and when I found this poster online I just had to have it. So I can actually review this! It’s exactly as pictured and the colours really pop. The paper is a lot thicker than a normal poster, it’s actually more like an Artist print.

If your anything like me then you’re a sucker for a new edition of your favourite books, especially if the cover is purrtiful. I haven’t seen any new editions of du Maurier’s short stories in a very long time so I’m super excited about these!

il_570xN.477085742_7jnd.jpg

The iconic first line of the novel is actually printed onto another page from the book which is a nice touch. Simple but effective, it really stands out.

il_570xN.854801844_7yn4

I thought this was a really cute and quirky gift. I actually have a copy of the edition with this cover and it’s one of my favourites. This lining is stunning, very 1940s and the style is very in keeping given the decade the book is set.

il_570xN.471351283_t0hb.jpg

I mean I just can’t believe this actually exists, an awesome plushie for any die-hard fan!

il_570xN.594220578_dn9d

These earrings can actually be customized to include your favourite characters or scenes from the book. A nice little touch don’t you think?

Apologies for the lack of image but I couldn’t get it to work so just click the link to check it out. I know again with the first line but it’s such a great opening, why wouldn’t you want a top with it emblazoned across your chest?

$T2eC16NHJIgFHRF47(prBSY(Qwj0(!~~60_57.JPG

For those with a bigger budget, this is simply perfect. Oh if only!

I’m sorry these are mostly Rebecca related but it is her most famous novel, it’s kinda hard to avoid! Let us know if you discover anything else!

Leave a Reply

